qosashoes.blogg.se

Ryan is creating a business process modeling notation
Ryan is creating a business process modeling notation





ryan is creating a business process modeling notation ryan is creating a business process modeling notation ryan is creating a business process modeling notation

The problem with Unix is that it doesn't have a concept of a user. I don't want to figure out why your project doesn't build on my machine because I'm missing some library that you need even though I have it installed but some bash variable isn't set and blah blah blah blah. I don't have time to read your 20-page manual/treatise on a utility that doesn't explain how to actually use the thing until page 17. And they don't mind spending the majority of their productive hours tinkering with this stuff. They have spent multiple decades breathing in the Unix environment, and are quite good at guessing how the other guy probably designed his system. Installing PHP? Did you install it the right way? Did you install the special packages that make it secure and not mastadon slow? You want to create a daemon process? Hope you found the right guide! Setting up a mail sever? Kill yourself.įor some people, this is not the case. Every single goddamn thing I try to accomplish while setting up a server involves a minimum of 1 hour of googling and tinkering. Down the fucking toilet, and for stuff I don't give a shit about. My experience of trying to get stuff done in Unix has taught me that it is a really powerful, extremely well-thought-out way to waste my fucking time.Īll of it. Ryan's point seems particularly centered around Unix, which makes sense. I've been tempted to write rants like this before.







Ryan is creating a business process modeling notation